Menu
 

Top 5 Easter Weekend Reads

Who doesn't love a long, bank holiday weekend? This Easter, I'm less excited about all the chocolate I'll be eating (although I'm obviously looking forward to that!) than I am about having the time to curl up in the sun with a good book.

If that sounds like your idea of heaven as well, then check out my five book recommendations for an awesome weekend of reading.

The Rain by Virgina Bergin

As soon as I was introduced to the concept of this book, I was excited to read it. In two words, this book is about KILLER RAIN, but it's actually about so much more than that.

It's about a teenage girl called Ruby trying to survive in a world where water can kill you; where there are barely any people left and you don't know where you should go to stay safe. It's a story about Ruby going on a journey to find her Father, being stuck with the last guy in the world she wants to kiss (then kissing him anyway) and the dangers she faces on the way. It's a fantastic book by an awesome debut author, and you should make the most of reading it on a sunny weekend - this is a book you don't want to be reading on a rainy day!

Every Day by David Levithan

If you like books by John Green and Rainbow Rowell then pick up Every Day asap!

Each morning, A wakes up in a different body. And that's fine... until A wakes up in Justin's body, and meets Rhiannon; Justin's girlfriend. Suddenly, A wants to stay where he is - but he can't! 

What do you do when you can't choose where you wake up, or whether you wake up as a boy or a girl? When all your relationships can only last for a day at a time? The author creates amazing characters and a compelling plot to explore this idea - the struggle towards something you can likely never have.

It's an extremely well written exploration of a unique and fascinating concept, and I urge you to all go and read it NOW!

Sabriel by Garth Nix

With The Hunger Games and The Finisher so popular at the moment, I thought this was the perfect time to reread one of my favourite fantasy books. This book is super exciting, massively entertaining and explores a world which is rich and deep and fascinating - Sabriel has to travel back into the Old Kingdom, a place of danger and magic, to try and find out what's happened to her father. He's an Abhorsen, a person charged with sending the dead back to where they belong, and his disappearance might leave space for an ancient evil to break back into the world.

This book has it all! Strong female hero? Check. Amazingly built fantasy setting? Check. Dashing love interest? Check. Basically, an all-round amazing example of magic and drama and saving the day, and I'm excited to re-read this favourite of mine. 

Cuckoo Song by Frances Hardinge

Frances Hardinge is an MKB favourite, and this book is a great example of why we love her!

One day, Triss wakes up after an accident and knows everything is different. Her sister is terrified of her and her parents whisper behind closed doors. As she goes on a journey to try and discover what's happened to her, the truth she finds isn't one anyone will be expecting.

This is a tense and creepy changeling story, deliciously dark, wonderfully written and cleverly crafted. It plays with the expectations of changeling mythology by exploring things from the perspective of the changeling itself -  Triss is trying to find out who she is. Miss out on reading this at your peril!

Airhead by Meg Cabot

This book is classic Meg Cabot. Funny, touching and unique, it's about a girl called Em who gets into an accident and wakes up in the body of a model. Sounds like a dream come true? Not quite! She has to leave her old life (and friends, and love interest!) behind, and step into the (extremely tall!) shoes of Nikki Howard, the model whose body - and it turns out, whose life! - she's taken over.

This is a book with a great plot and amazing characters, following Em and her battle to find a place in the new and confusing world of fashion and beauty. Even better news - it's the first book in a series, so you don't have to say goodbye to the characters at the end! Funny, entertaining and exciting, this is perfect for fans of Geek Girl by Holly Smale.